Mildura, Victoria, Australia.


Desert City Rodders was formed in February 1974 by founding members Ian Wallace, Jennifer (McKay) Wallace, Gary Surman, Graham Blaby and Henry McClure.

Many of the earlier meetings were held around the kitchen table in a pickers hut at the Wallace’s. Desert City Rodders now have their own Club Room which was built and decked out by existing members who have volunteered their skills, services and time to seek donations and services from the local community. The club currently holds 33 members.

Gerald Goanna was the inspiration of former club member Peter Rankin back in 1987 and has been the clubs mascot ever since, appearing on all of the Goanna Run logos. A costume of Gerald was also made and he would appear at the earlier Goanna Runs and Christmas parties. The costume still exists, although a little worse for wear and remains stored away.

Desert City Rodders have several social get-togethers throughout the year, and the members’s cars are shown at many local events and charity functions. Major events the club has held in Mildura include the Victorian State Rod Run 1977, the Motor Show Spectacular 1980, and the ASRF Nations in 1981 and 1983. In the early years the club had camp outs at Lake Cullulleraine where rodders from Mildura, Broken Hill and Renmark would get together for a weekend.

Since 1987 the annual “Goanna Run” is held in late October, one of the best times to visit Mildura. The Goanna Run attracts rodders and their cars from all over Australia and even as far as New Zealand and the USA.

Our Members

Club President – Ted O’Shannessy

Club Secretary – Kris Wilson

Club Treasurer – Rob Bunton

Glenn Oliver

Danny Wilson

Gary Surman

John Nicholls

Ian Morrison

Kevin Burke

Jayke Wilson

Robert Wilson

Hayley Wilson

Ken Hall

Harry Mangan

Ed Emanuelli

Dave Emanuelli

Russell Horsfall

Rob Bunton

Angelo Rodi

Ken Emanuelli

Robert Foster

Frank Boseley

Kate Emanuelli

Brent Emanuelli

Terry Joy

Glenn Wallace

Kevin Browne

Michael Marks

Val Polifrone

Geoff Collicoat

Peter Lyons

Dennis Samaras

Russell Gilbert

George White

Allan Lodge

Darren Ralph

Ken Stevens

Ray Stevens

Henry McClure

Chris East

Ian Wallace

Jennifer Wallace